CITY OF WHEELING HISTORIC LANDMARKS COMMISSION

- www.WheelingWV.gov -

City of Wheeling – Historic Landmarks Commission

Rescheduled meeting of the Wheeling Historic Landmarks Commission: February 10, 2022. Commissioners present: Gilot, Greco, Kaiser, Sweeny, and Thorngate Commissioners absent: Karelis and Smith Staff present: Connelly The meeting was called to order at 3:30 p.m. by Chairman Kaiser.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Regular meeting: January 6, 2022. A motion to approve the minutes was made by Commissioner Greco and seconded by Commissioner Gilot. The motion was unanimously approved.

NEW BUSINESS:

Public Hearing - Certificate of Appropriateness – 745 Main Street

Kyle Filtz, owner, presented the request to repair the façade of the building. Chairman Kaiser inquired as to how the repairs came to be made without a building permit, which would have prompted the Commission's design review prior to making the inappropriate repairs. Mr. Filtz explained it is a temporary fix with a permanent solution forthcoming. He intends to apply for a façade improvement grant from the city. A discussion ensued with Commissioner Sweeny offering assistance through Wheeling Heritage and Commissioner Greco discussing the design review guidelines and the Department of Interior Standards. Chairman Kaiser recommended tabling action on this application for up to 90 days to allow Mr. Filtz time to meet with Wheeling Heritage and develop a plan and scope of work that meets the design guidelines.

Chairman Kaiser opened the public hearing. Maria McKelvey, 725 Main Street, appeared to express her concerns with the modifications that were made without first receiving a Certificate of Appropriateness. She also questioned how the sale took place without the neighbors being made aware. The public hearing was closed. No action was taken on the application.

Communications

Staff reported on grant funding available from the State Historic Preservation Office. The deadline is March 2022.

OLD BUSINESS: None

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

C.J. Kaiser Chair

> COMMISSION MEMBERS C.J. Kaiser, Chair · Jon-Erik Gilot · Victor Greco · Bekah Karelis · Councilman Ty Thorngate · Gregory Smith · Betsy Sweeny Staff: Tom Connelly, AICP